the computer science society

At the University of York

Servers: runciman klaxon latona apollo diana

AGM 2021 Results

March 05, 2021

It’ll take more than a global pandemic to stop the HackSoc AGM!

The new committee is:

  • Chair: Ash Holland
  • Secretary: Marks Polakovs & Iris Scoffin
  • Treasurer: Morgan McKay
  • Social Secretary: C Lloyd
  • Press and Publicity Officer: Chester Wringe
  • Academic Events Officer: Aaron Christiansen
  • Infrastructure Officer: Ezekiel Bethel
  • Ordinary Members:
    • Daniel Allinson
    • Adam Birtles
    • Jamie Quigley

Candidates met on Google Meet to present their manifesti, while the meeting was streamed using our in-house RTMP service with a latency of around 10 seconds, and our brand-new Lightspeed service with less than a second of delay. Questions from members were taken via Slack. Frequent pauses were given to allow any livestream delay to catch up before moving on to the next item.


Two amendments were presented to the society, both of which were accepted. The passing of an amendment required the support of two-thirds of the members voting. You can learn more about the amendments in the linked GitHub issues.

Committee Election Results

All positions were voted on using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) method, which is equivalent to the Alternative Vote (AV) method for positions with one seat (all positions except Ordinary Members). All positions had the option to Re-Open Nominations (RON). Quorum was 12 based on our membership count at the time, which was achieved for all elections.

Voters were given access to a Google Form for each election, which required them to be signed into their University account, and allowed paid members to cast at most one vote per election. The elections were open for ten minutes at a time, then closed to prevent further submissions. The results of the Google Forms were collected into a spreadsheet, which was then used to count the votes manually, or electronically in the case of the Ordinary Member election. Voters’ email addresses were compared against a list of HackSoc members, to ensure that all voters were eligible to vote. All votes will later be verified manually.


Candidate Votes (Total: 15)
Ash Holland 15
Re-Open Nominations (RON) 0
Spoiled and Empty Ballots 0


Candidate Votes (Total: 15)
Iris Scoffin and Marks Polakovs 15
Re-Open Nominations (RON) 0
Spoiled and Empty Ballots 0


Candidate Votes (Total: 13)
Morgan McKay 13
Re-Open Nominations (RON) 0
Spoiled and Empty Ballots 0

Social Secretary

Candidate Votes (Total: 16)
C Lloyd 15
Re-Open Nominations (RON) 1
Spoiled and Empty Ballots 0

Press & Publicity Officer

Candidate Votes (Total: 15)
Chester Wringe 14
Re-Open Nominations (RON) 1
Spoiled and Empty Ballots 0

Academic Events Officer

Candidate Votes (Total: 17)
Aaron Christiansen 16
Re-Open Nominations (RON) 0
Spoiled and Empty Ballots 0
Ineligible to vote 1

Infrastructure Officer

Candidate Votes (Total: 13)
Ezekiel Bethel 13
Re-Open Nominations (RON) 0
Spoiled and Empty Ballots 0

Ordinary Members

Total Ballots 15
Valid Ballots 15
Spoiled and Empty Ballots 0

Therefore the Droop Quota was 4.

Candidate Name Round 1 Round 2
Adam Birtles 5 (Elected)
Daniel Allinson 8 (Elected)
Jamie Quigley 2 5.25 (Elected)
Re-Open Nominations (RON) 0 0.5